…like nobody’s watching.

Do NOT be alarmed if you pull up next to me at a red light.   I am NOT having a heart attack.  I do NOT need medical attention (some would debate this).    I am simply getting down with my bad self.

For as long as I can remember car dancing has been something that I’ve had zero control over. Similar to Elaine on Seinfeld, my body simply does what it wants when the music comes on.  I have had to make peace with the fact that folks on the road will take notice of these moves. It’s quite difficult to ignore flailing limbs and full open mouth singing.   I find myself on the receiving end of lingering glances,  full on chuckles and even some eye rolling.   And not just from my husband.   Although the weight of his embarrassment is often palpable, but I remain unphased.

Car Dancing
James Corden IS my spirit animal.

To be honest, if you are not dancing or singing like your auditioning for Carpool Karaoke, I cant even imagine what you ARE doing.   We spend an insane amount of time in our vehicles getting from point A to point B.   Why should we be expected to slug along without any real entertainment??   Being able to dance away the dust of the day is a simple joy that I can count on.   My entire mood can be elevated with a quick ride to Walgreens.

Despite what I tell myself, I know my moves are not pretty, perhaps even borderline offensive to anyone who bears witness to my nightclub on wheels.   But I leave everything I have on that minivan dance floor, every time I get behind the wheel.   And sure, you can simply drive along, sitting still and quietly enjoying the music , but I promise you will have far superior ride if you spend those moments working on your shoulder thrusts & percolators.  And don’t be discouraged if you have a passenger.   Choreographed moves, in tandem are invigorating.

It doesn’t matter how short or long the journey is, next time you get in that car, crank that dial up and give your best Mick Jagger impression a try.  See if you don’t emerge at your destination with a big ol’ smile on your face and little extra swagger in your stride.

Leave a Reply

